know your port- Tanzania Ports Authority (TPA)


The Tanzania Ports Authority (TPA) was established by the Ports Act No. 17 of 2004 as landlord port authority. It operates a system of ports serving the Tanzania hinterland and the land-linked countries of Zambia, Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Burundi, Rwanda, Malawi, Uganda and Zimbabwe. The Authority performs the role of landlord and operator with the main functions of promoting the use, development and management of the ports and their hinterlands, entering contracts for the purpose of delegating the powers of the Authority through licensing and concessions for port services. The TPA manages a diverse system of sea and inland waterways on Tanzania's Mainland. Dar es Salaam, Tanga, and Mtwara are the major seaports; Kilwa, Lindi, Mafia, Pangani, and Bagamoyo are the smaller seaports; and Lake Victoria, Tanganyika, and Nyasa are the lake ports.

No comments